Your online guide to the 2011 Isle of Man General Election
Vote 2011 - Isle of Man General Election 2011

Clare Christian elected as President

Tue, 12 Jul 2011

Image of Clare Christian
Clare Christian

Clare Christian has been elected as the new presdient of Tynwald

She received 20 votes to Steve Rodan's 12

One ballot paper was spoilt

Chief Minister Tony Brown wasn't nominated, despite announcing his intention to stand.

The Speaker of the House of Keys Steve Rodan was nominated by Infrastructure Minister Phil Gawne and seconded by MLC Juan Turner.

Mrs Christian from the Legislative Council was put forward by Eddie Lowey, and seconded by Quintin Gill.