Your online guide to the 2011 Isle of Man General Election
Vote 2011 - Isle of Man General Election 2011

Island elects new House of Keys

Fri, 30 Sep 2011

Image of

Three Ministers lost their House of Keys seats in yesterday's General Election.

Anne Craine, Adrian Earnshaw and Martyn Quayle failed to gain enough votes in their respective constituencies.

Rushen MHK Quintin Gill and Douglas South member Bill Malarkey also lost their re-election campaigns.

Howard Quayle unseated Social Care Minister Martyn Quayle in Middle with nearly 42% of the vote in a four candidate race.

Treasury Minister Anne Craine missed out in Ramsey with former Tynwald member Leonard Singer returning to national politics. Allan Bell topped the poll.

Adrian Earnshaw finished fourth for three seat Onchan, despite exit polls suggesting he would be re-elected.

Liberal Vannin candidates Peter Karran and Zac Hall claimed the most votes, with David Quirk picking up the third seat.

After the count, he admitted he was surprised [play clip 1]

Rushen candidate Laurence Skelly, Castletown's Richard Ronan, Michael candidate Alf Cannan and Kate Beecroft for Douglas South were all elected for the first time.

All other seats were unchanged.

One of the constituencies seeing no change was Douglas East.

Chris Robertshaw and Brenda Cannell kept their seats with strong majorities.

Mr Robertshaw was first elected in a by election last May, and received the most votes in the constituency yesterday.

He believes he and Mrs Cannell bring different qualities to the role [play clip 2]

Members will be sworn in on Tuesday, when they'll also elect a new Speaker of the House of Keys. The new Chief Minister will be chosen a week later.